Best of 2021: Movies

I kept track. I watched 218 movies this year. Some old. Some new. Here are 21 of the best of 2021. With the obvious caveat that I still have more to see (Looking at you West Side Story).

~Casey

Jason & Brett’s Note: Movies are entirely Casey’s domain. We kind of just sit this one out. But look out for our Dune hot take!

21. A Quiet Place Part II

Obligatory big budget movie mention.

20. The Rescue

The story of the Thailand cave rescue, told with incredible actual footage.

19. The Last Duel

Ridley Scott crushing it in his 80s

18. Shiva Baby

17. Nightmare Alley

I think Guillermo Del Toro and I would have a lot of common interests to talk about.

16. The Velvet Underground

15. Dune

I read the book after watching this trailer. The Movie was good too.

Brett & Jason’s Hot Take: Dune was bad.

14. Luca

Call Me By Your Name Part 2

13. The Hand Of God

12. Barb & Star Go to Vista Del Mar

“Let me start at the beginning… I was born in a hospital-“

11. The Card Counter

Oscar Isaac playing poker is very much in my zone.

10. Roadrunner

I’m a sucker for anything Bourdain, but this elevated far beyond the standard post-mortem doc.

9. Don’t Look Up

But did you catch the very subtle hints that it was actually about climate change?….

8. Zola

Come for Cousin Greg. Stay for Colman Domingo!

7. Last Night In Soho

Was nearly an hour into this movie and thought I’d been misled that it was a horror flick.

6. tick..tick…BOOM!

Jason’s Rating: Two emphatic Ticks and one emphatic Boom!

5. Power of the Dog

Slow (rope) burn.

4. The Green Knight

Fair warning, this movie is weird a.f.

3. Licorice Pizza

While this movie had neither licorice, nor pizza, it did have the deep dive into 70s waterbed sales we’ve been dying for.

2. The French Dispatch

I don’t care if I’m being predictable. God damn, this film was near perfect.

  1. The Beatles – Get Back
Is being eight hours long a bit much to make this list? Could you maybe classify it as TV? Perhaps. Do I care? Not even a little bit.

Leave a comment